Release Review: “Without/Within” – Bear’s Den, EP, Out Now

Release Review: “Without/Within” – Bear’s Den, EP, Out Now

Following their last stunning EP release ‘Agape’ in March this year, the London based, all-boy folk trio announce the release of their latest 6-track EP ‘Without/Within.

Following in the same nu-folk vein as Johnny Flynn and Mumford and Sons, Andrew Davie, Kev Jones & Joey Haynes make music that defies their youth. Their vocally driven, down-tempo acoustic folk is formed from simple yet deftly interwoven vocal harmonies, with layers of gently fingerpicked melodies from banjos and acoustic guitar. Drums add weight and drama to a sound infused with a plaintive, heartrending emotion.

Sophie’ comes in waves of watery, intimate bedroom folk, whilst ‘Don’t Let the Sun Steal You Away’ is saturated with lamentation and a gently rousing chorus. Bear’s Den have a sound with nothing to hide – their skilled song writing gives tracks a timeless, universal feel that manages to cut through to their poetic essence.

An understated band that ride on fully formed melody, fine vocal ability and a reverential nod to folk tradition, Bear’s Den’s bare bones, stripped back musicality creates an intimate and penetrating aural experience.

Buy ‘Without/Within’ here
Bear’s Den are playing The Haunt on Thursday 7 November (sold out)

Words by Sarah Rayner


Sharing's Caring:

The Mag

Brighton's Event Listings Guide! Read Brighton's No.1 online monthly Brighton Magazine for your guide to Brighton events, offers & deals, news and more! 100+ pages each issue packed with hundreds of Brighton events & festivals! XYZ: Guiding Brighton for 15+ years!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments